Study no. 17

for laptop orchestra


Performance Instructions:

For laptop orchestra.

Study no. 17 can be performed by 7 or more laptop players, each with their own copy of the score application. Players should be distributed throughout the performance space, each with their own localized amplification.

In performance, the player clicks on the numbered circles in numerical order. Different sounds will occur if the attack cursor is clicked before reaching the next number, or after it has arrived. Clicking on the descending flashing circles will produce a third sound. Listening to the sound of the ensemble is an important element to a successful performance, and should influence one's decision on when to click on certain circles.

Additional performance instructions are displayed in the upper left hand corner of the screen, including a timer that indicates how much time is left until the next change.

Study no. 17 was composed for, and premiered by the Princeton Laptop Orchestra (PLOrk), 04/24/13, Taplin Auditorium, Princeton University.

Ryan Ross Smith, Winter 2013.

  • Contact me for performance materials [score and instructions]

  • Return to scores